picture of “Release The Bats” LP/CD

Various Artists

“Release The Bats” LP/CD


Spawned from the Cave that set the standard for mischievous, perverse, raucous punk music in the form of Australian band The Birthday Party, Three One G Records has set out to pay tribute with Release the Bats. This album is a compilation of covers by varied acts from Cattle Decapitation to Some Girls to Ssion, each undoubtedly influenced in one way or another by The Birthday Party’s wildly entwined goth-punk-jazz-blues sensibilities. Hidden in Das Oath’s feedback and Rah Bras’ unsettling synth lines lie curious, well-written, dark stories, and it’s fascinating to hear them told through the collective distorted echo of the Three One G family. Featuring artwork by Mark McCoy.

Track Listing:

Plot To Blow Up The Eiffel Tower – Pleasure Heads Must Burn
Das Oath – Friend Catcher
T Cells – Deep In The Woods
Cattle Decapitation – Sonny’s Burning
Year Future – Blundertown
SSion – Nick The Stripper
Ex Models – Mutiny In Heaven
Les Georges Leningrad – Riddle House
Rah Bras – Mr. Clarinet
Melt-Banana – Faint Heart
The Chinese Stars – The Plague
Celebration – King Ink
Kill Me Tomorrow – Junkyard
Get Hustle – A Dead Song
Numbers – Cry
Error – Wild World
Daughters – Marry Me (Lie Lie)
Some Girls – Release The Bats