picture of “A Jumper’s Handbook” LP


“A Jumper’s Handbook” LP

Doomsday Student is Eric Paul, Stephen Mattos, Craig Kureck, and Paul Vieira. Made up of members from bands such as Arab on Radar, The Chinese Stars, Athletic Automaton, and Chrome Jackson, one should not be particularly surprised by the level of dissonance, mania, and peculiarity thoughtfully melded into every layer of the music, from unsettling lyrics to hysteric guitars and irregular rhythms.

A Jumper’s Handbook was recorded and mastered at Machines with Magnets in Pawtucket, RI.

A published writer (often working with Wes Eisold’s publishing company Heartworm Press), Eric Paul uses his penchant for simultaneously repulsive and humorous storytelling in A Jumper’s Handbook, sung in distinctive nasal notes that can come across as sarcastic and insolent if not downright confrontational. Guitar chords plucked in high-pitched minor-key spirals and discombobulating drum patterns reinforce the feeling of mental instability laced with cleverly articulated perversion that A Jumper’s Handbook masters. Both on this recording and in their stage presence, Doomsday Student has a serious knack for eliciting a reaction, for better or worse– and shouldn’t that be the ultimate goal?

Track listing:
1 Ape In Love
2 The Unborn Chant
3 Bleeding Pioneers
4 Slap That Loudmouth
5 A New Bearded Monster
6 Dime Store Horsey
7 Her Hairy Graveyard
8 World Without Teeth