Pre-Order Microwaves “Via Weightlessness” LP

Pre-orders are now being taken for the Microwaves “Via Weightlessness” LP (limited to 300) as well as digitally on iTunes!

“We tend to think of microwaves as a clean radiation force, but maybe it really is disguised chaos. That’s the way the Pittsburgh band Microwaves plays it — without the disguise. The band, which formed in 2000, has no use for the niceties of pop or rock, attacking with a furious blast of angular, chopping guitars, aggressive free-form drumming, lurching time signatures and shouted vocals. Whether you file it under noise, thrash, avant-rock or no wave — they don’t like labels much — it’s a turbulent yet exhilarating ride should you dare to buckle in.”
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

“Winding, maddening guitar bending all around bass fuzzed out to disgusting level, barked staccato vocals, and drums that serve as the sharp pointed sticks necessary to keep this noisy episode going where it needs to go. When the mad sidewalk preacher vocals materialize the music shapes around it, but as it dissipates that nasty guitar lead (really awesome tone I must say) seizes the controls.”
Boston Hassle

Of innumerable bands that traffic in dissonance, the musick of Pittsburgh, PA’s Microwaves shears clean and hot as an oxy-lance through the defenses of even the most cynical noise rock aficionado. The trio plies a no-wave/prog-thrash scree that evokes the doings of today’s renegade wetware punks who shove glass-sheathed RFID chips and rare-earth magnets into fresh incisions – dimensions away from the bluesy shot-and-beer heartland rock of their local bar scene. Bursting forth with 2001’s “Professional Systems Overload” EP and the following year’s “System 2” (both featuring original bassist/vocalist Steve Moore, now of ZOMBI) John Roman (drums, formerly of the 1985, and current member of Night Vapor and Brown Angel) and David Kuzy (guitar, vocals) cycled through bass players for several years (including a stint as a synth/sampler-augmented duo) before joining with Johnny Arlett for their longest-running lineup to date. Over the years, Microwaves continued to pick up the loose ends left by Voivod, MX-80, Snakefinger, and some of their own Pittsburgh-area “math-rock” contemporaries, twisting them into a Gordian knot that at once rages and confounds.

Microwaves’ newest LP, Via Weightlessness, is being released by Three One G Records on September 28th. It was recorded and mixed by Jason Jouver (who has played in Creta Bourzia, Don Caballero, Microwaves) at +/- Studio. Mastered by James Plotkin (who has played in Phantomsmasher, Khanate, Old Lady Drivers).

Their latest album, Via Weightlessness, tones down their previous effects-heavy approach, charging lean and unabated toward their dystopian vision. Kuzy’s guitar chimes through the mix with spindly atonal runs more akin to data streams spat from an outdated mainframe, alternately careening into chugging, crossover-thrash riffs. The Roman/Arlett rhythm section is much more than the sum of its parts: Beefheartian clamor served up with cyborg precision underpins overdriven bass, rumbling forth frenziedly as a DMT-dosed rhino. Kuzy, the paranoid town crier, and Arlett, the unhinged shrieker, deliver a twin-vocal assault covering most topics previously found in your local video rental shop’s cult/sci-fi section.

Via Weightlessness LP:
1. Via Weightlessness
2. My Credentials
3. Flip the Switch
4. Ex-Moonwalker
5. To Activate
6. Vexations
7. Annex Omneity
8. Love Catheter
9. Refrigerator Heaven
10. Gravitational Duel
11. Fright Gallery
12. Antibody

Upcoming shows:
September 29th – Pittsburgh, PA @ Howlers, record release show w/ Chantillion, Tartarus
October 11th – Canton, OH @ Buzz Bin
October 12th – Ferndale, MI @ Cellarmens
October 13th – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom w/ Thee Oh Sees
October 24th – Pittsburgh, PA @ Howlers w/ Yautja
November 14th – Kingston, NY @ Tubby’s
November 15th – Worcester, MA @ Ralph’s
November 16th – Portland, ME @ Geno’s
November 17th – Providence, RI @ Dusk w/ Gnaw