picture of Bad Songs Forever EP


Bad Songs Forever EP

Deaf Club is a savage sound bath dripping with sardonicism: a blastbeat-centric hardcore punk assault channeling crust, thrash, and grind (un)sensibilities. Succinct pauses, surreal frequencies and effects, breakneck pace and sharply hurled vocals characterize the band’s aesthetic, which seems as though it is rooted in a sort of nasty-sound-meets-highbrow-message ethos. Fueled by the onslaught of society’s insanity and driven mad by tinnitus, Justin Pearson (The Locust, Dead Cross, Planet B), Brian Amalfitano (ACxDC), Scott Osment (Weak Flesh), Jason Klein (Run With The Hunted), and Tommy Meehan (The Manx, Chum Out!) approach music as an opportunity to confront our collective sicknesses. In 2020, the band released their debut EP, Contemporary Sickness, as well as a Remix cassette EP of bonus remixes featuring GothBoiClique’s YAWNS, Bubblegum Octopus, 304angstroms, and DJ Embryonic Petit Sac. They then released a cover and video of Killing Joke’s “The Wait” as a benefit, along with a slew of other music videos, including a long form performance of their debut LP in its entirety. They continued with a collaboration with clothing brand Brain Dead to release ultra limited test pressings of their album Productive Disruption, and played a handful of shows in Southern California, including under a bridge in DTLA lit by the spotlight of a police helicopter hovering overhead. In January of 2022, their first full-length was released.

BAD SONGS FOREVER was recorded by Alex Estrada and Tommy Meehan. Mixed and mastered by Brent Asbury. Pressed on limited edition color vinyl.

Album art and design by Paul Rentler.

Having just released their debut LP, Productive Disruption, in January of 2022, Deaf Club wasted no time in the relentless pursuit of perfecting sci fi crust punk from the future; the result is their newest EP, BAD SONGS FOREVER. Made up of 3 original tracks as well as a Pixies cover of “Broken Face”— Joey Santiago of Pixies remarked, “Love it! Going to steal that Feedback Pedal Effect” upon hearing it— the band claws and spews its way into a heightened state of controlled chaos, taking time to more deliberately build, layer and pace each track in ways they previously hadn’t. As their shared style comes increasingly into laser-focus with each new song, Deaf Club continues to meld d-beat and thrash sensibilities with unhinged battery acid buzzes, disgruntled rhythms, and tongue in cheek lyrics spit cynical and sharp.

Track listing:
1. If You Eat a Rat, It Might Taste Good
2. But Does It Fart?
3. Broken Face
4. Ride With Cops, Shoot With Robbers